Doubt Away!!

Wouldn’t it be cool if there was a patch you could buy in the store to drive doubt away?  

What kinds of things would we accomplish if we could just pop open a box, remove a safety seal and slap on a doubt removal patch? 

Similar to those nicotine patches smokers use to kick the habit, over time and with repeated use we could banish doubt for good.

medical-patch-on-back-donna-moderna-com
Photo courtesy of Donna Moderna

I know, this sounds ridiculous, but bear with me.

 Just imagine the infomercial for a product like that: The camera would zoom in on vignettes of people in distress over a big decision or event in their lives.

Perhaps a man trying to think how to ask the woman he loves to marry him; a performer about to take the stage for the first time ever; a young girl or boy about to admit they are gay; a woman thinking about taking the job that will take her away from people she loves.

 You know; the make or break moments in life.

Then, the announcer’s voice over cuts in –

“Are you facing a big decision?”

“Don’t know which way to turn?”

“You need Doubt Away!”

“This patch, available for just five easy payments of 39.99, will banish doubt, for good!”

“Just peel it, stick it and watch your doubts melt away!”

“For the low, low price of 39.99 give yourself the gift of a lifetime of fear free achievement”

“Don’t delay!” “Get Doubt Away today!”

I obviously have way too much time on my hands. I know. These are the thoughts that pass through my head because I constantly struggle with doubt.

Am I doing enough? Am I present and engaged? Am I a good mother, wife, teacher? Is my writing worthy to be published?  Ten million questions with 100 million different answers depending on the kind of day I’m having.

The truth is there is no patch and if there was, it would probably have a raft of unpleasant side effects like total loss of empathy, causing users of the patch to turn into unrepentant psychopaths.

Besides, this generation is already over medicated. What kind of trippy, mind bending drugs would have to be pumped into a patch that would basically rewire your brain at the level of feeling and emotion?

I don’t even want to think about that let alone put those drugs into my body. Life is hard enough as it is.

I don’t know about you, but I know I would be too much of a coward to try the doubt patch if it’s ever invented. So what does that mean for us? It means that we have to get rid of doubt the hard way; the old fashioned way.

bungee-jump
Photo courtesy of Pinterest.

We have to suck it up and do the things that scare us. Think about it, could taking the risk really be worse than the fear of what could happen if we do? I don’t think so.

We already know what’s going to happen if we don’t take those risks, if we always run from the big decisions. Things are going to stay exactly the same: stable, routine, stagnant.

Stepping out there, allowing our passion to drive us, could lead to wonderful things! The point is, we won’t know until we try.

Starting this blog was my decision to start living as if I did have a “Doubt Away” patch. I just told my inner ‘Negative Nancy’ to stuff it, then wrote and published my first post .

I hit the publish button before I could lose my nerve and talk myself out of it, again.

I invite you to join me on this quest to conquer doubt. To do it afraid.

“Don’t Delay!”  “Get ‘Doubt Away’ today!”

Leave a Reply

