Caution! Fragile.

The boy who broke my heart

had a face with character

handsome, not cute

 

hooded eyes that switched

on a dime from tenderness

to hate; rarely cried.

 

lips luscious for a man

with a perfect cupid’s bow

that loosed countless lying arrows

into my naive

 

and gullible heart.

worshipped my body

made me senseless with need of him

 

manipulated my mind,

made me doubt my instincts

withdraw from my friends

 

live in a bubble of isolation

which only he could break.

said the words

you know

 

those three

but never meant them

at least, not with me.

Leave a Reply

